Are you looking for a way to delete a post in WordPress? In this article, we will demonstrate how easy it is to delete a post in WordPress.
Also, you will learn how to permanently delete or recover your WordPress posts.
Remember when your post is permanently deleted, everything that is tied to it is deleted also. This includes comments, post meta fields, and terms associated with the post.
Simple steps to Delete a Post in WordPress
- First login to your WordPress Admin dashboard.
- Once you are in, from your dashboard menu – select Posts >> All Posts.
- After clicking on All Posts, a page with all your posts should load.
- Select the post which you want to delete by clicking on the checkbox.
- Hover around the post and you will notice that there are few options that get displayed.
- Click the Trash option. Once clicked, the post is moved to Trash unless you have a disabled Trash option. The deleted post will remain in the Trash for 30 days.
Steps to permanently Delete Posts in WordPress.
- Assuming that you have deleted the post following the steps mentioned above.
- When you click on the Trash option, the post is moved to Trash and not entirely deleted.
- If you want to permanently delete it from the system then, click on the Trash option as shown in the image below.
- When you are in the Trash section, select the post which you want to delete permanently.
- Hover around the post and then click on Delete Permanently option.
There you go, you have successfully deleted the post permanently.
Steps to Restore WordPress Posts?
Consider that you have accidentally deleted your post and wanted to restore that particular post. Note that when you delete a post or page, an option is available to undo your action.
But for some reason you didn’t undo your action, there’s another way to recover your post which we have mentioned below in simple steps.
- From your WordPress Admin Dashboard go to Posts >> All Posts.
- After the page loads up, select the Trash option which is above your Posts table.
- From the Trash page, select the post you want to recover.
- Hover around the selected post to reveal all the options.
- You should see Restore option, click on it.
Voila!! You have recovered your deleted post.
The above option will only work if you haven’t disabled the Trash feature. It always gives you the safety net to restore your page by keeping the Trash option enabled.
But for some reason you want to get rid of it, you can read our article on How to disable the Trash feature in WordPress.
If you are just looking to edit your post rather than deleting it completely, you can follow our article on How to Edit Posts in WordPress.
We hope that you have successfully managed to delete your unwanted posts.
Please explore our other beginner’s guide on WordPress.
If you liked this article or have suggestions or queries, let us know from the comment section below.